About ellis county, Texas

Ellis County Texas Court House 

Ellis County Texas Court House 

ELLIS COUNTY. Ellis County is located in north central Texas. Waxahachie, the largest town and county seat, is on Interstate Highway 35E thirty miles south of Dallas. As of the 2010 census, its population was 149,610 and is currently in 2016 estimated at 163,632. Ellis County is included in the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area.

The county was founded in 1849 and organized the next year.  The County was named after Virginian-born Richard Ellis, President of the defiant 1836 Constitutional Congress that declared Texas’ independence from Mexico. The voters were told by the state legislature to name the county seat “Waxahachie”, a Tejas Native American word for “buffalo creek.” They determined the location of the county seat as the 62 acres bordering the Waxahachie Creek, donated by one of the earliest settlers, Emory W. Rogers. William Hawkins was the first chief justice (county judge). Judge Oran Milo Roberts presided over the first term of the Ellis County district court during the fall of 1850.

The County’s total area is 952 square miles, and is comprised of 23 total cities, towns, communities:

                       15 cities, (Cedar Hill, Ennis, Ferris, Grand Prairie, Glenn Heights, Italy, Mansfield, Maypearl,                                                       Midlothian, Milford, Oak Leaf, Ovilla, Pecan Hill, Red Oak, Waxahachie).

                        5 towns, (Alma, Bardwell, Garrett, Palmer, Venus).

                        3 communities unincorporated (Avalon, Forreston, and Telico) 

The economy shows a balance between varied manufacturing, agribusiness, and commerce. 

The schools are rated from good to excellent on average.

Ellis County boasts of: lakes, fishing, hunting; bluebonnet trails, historic homes, and its historic courthouse (pictured above).







Apostolic Living Way Church of Ellis County UPCI | 423 N. College St Waxahachie, TX 75165 | 972.617.0749

Service Times: Sunday School 10:00am & Worship  11:00am | Tuesday Prayer 7:00pm | Wednesday Service 7:00pm